The Iowa Print Sports Writers Association (IPSWA) announced the 2019 girls basketball All-State teams on Tuesday. The teams were selected by print sports writers in Iowa during a meeting on Sunday.

West Des Moines Valley senior Zoe Young was selected as Miss Iowa Basketball.

 A 5-foot-10 senior guard and a University of Maryland signee, Young averaged 23.4 points and 5.6 rebounds per game as Valley (20-5) captured the Class 5A state championship. She was the all-tournament captain and shot 56.2 percent from the field.

The Iowa Print Sports Writers Association was founded in February 2018 to carry on the tradition of newspapers selecting All-State teams for Iowa high school sports.

Eight players are selected for each team with no position restrictions. 

Local Class 1A schools are Iowa Mennonite and Lone Tree. Highland is Class 2A and Mid-Prairie is Class 3A. 

Class 1A

First Team

Emilee Danner, Ar-We-Va, senior

Shateah Wetering, Montezuma, junior

Rachel Leerar, West Hancock, sophomore

Kori Wedeking, Clarksville, junior

Suzanna Yoder, Iowa Mennonite School, senior

Olivia Larsen, Newell-Fonda, senior

Carson Fisk, Lynville-Sully, senior

Kassidi Steel, North Mahaska, junior


Second Team

Hannah Erickson, Central Elkader, junior

Madison Gettler, CAM, senior

Carah Drees, Westwood, senior

Aubrie Fisher, AGWSR, senior

Amanda Chizek, West Hancock, junior

Tori Michel, Bellevue Marquette, junior

Acey Jellison, Seymour, senior

Faith Vincent, Colo-NESCO, senior


Third Team

Nichole Kane, Springville, senior

Sadie Zaruba, Easton Valley, senior

Kaylyn Meyers, Bishop Garrigan, sophomore

Madison Tritle, Central City, senior

TJ Stoaks, Lenox, sophomore

Riley Jewett, Seymour, senior

Briana Baker-Bruce, Janesville, senior

Jayde Barto, Kingsley-Pierson, junior


Class 2A 

First Team

Sam Wall, Maquoketa Valley, senior

Taryn Scheuermann, Van Buren, junior

Kayla Chapman, Treynor, senior

Nicole McDermott, Cascade, junior

Alli Masters, Central Decatur, senior

Payton Slaughter, Cherokee, senior

Konnor Sudmann, Treynor, senior

Hailey Wallis, Grundy Center, senior


Second Team

Emma Atwood, Central Decatur, senior

Kassidy Pingel, Cherokee, senior

Bailey Beckman, Panorama, senior

Ellie Foster, Dike-New Hartford, junior

Maya Johnson, Mediapolis, senior

Grace Flanagan, North Linn, junior

Sam Stewart, Mount Ayr, junior

Maddie Jones, South Central Calhoun, senior


Third Team

Chloe Lofstrom, North Union, junior

Kennedy Wallace, Iowa City Regina, senior

Kylie Morrison, Logan-Magnolia, junior

Alyson Stokes, Highland, senior

Sophia Jungling, Aplington-Parkersburg, junior

Janie Schoonhoven, Unity Christian, sophomore

Kortney Drake, Wilton, senior

Erica Hoffman, East Buchanan, junior


Class 3A 

First Team

Logan Hughes, Shenandoah, senior

Maggie Phipps, North Polk, sophomore

Adrianna Katcher, Center Point-Urbana, junior

Kelsey Fields, Creston, sophomore

Sharon Goodman, Crestwood, junior

Callyn Fox, Center Point-Urbana, senior

Kallyn Stumbo, Okoboji, junior

Jaedon Murphy, North Polk, junior


Second Team

Sara Faber, Clear Lake, junior

Kylie Sanders, Louisa-Muscatine, sophomore

Kaili Lawson, Des Moines Christian, senior

Regan Freland, PCM, junior

Ryley Goebel, Center Point-Urbana, freshman

Jessica Musgrave, South Tama County, senior

Brielle Baker, Creston, senior

Abbey Holmes, Algona, junior


Third Team

Mya Mershman, Central Lee, sophomore

Maddie Ahlstrom, Waukon, senior

Katie Meyer, Iowa Falls-Alden, senior

Kayla Cripps, West Marshall, senior

Deseree Stubbe, Clarke, senior

Madi Parson, Camanche, senior

Josie Condon, Estherville Lincoln Central, senior

Reagan Barkema, Roland-Story, freshman

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.